Lake Victoria Facts

Lake Victoria is located in eastern Africa, between Uganda, Kenya, and Tanzania. Lake Victoria is one of Africa’s Great Lakes and is estimated to be about 400,000 years old.

At its deepest point, this lake has a depth of 82 meters, and its average depth is 40 meters. It spans a 26,828-square-mile area (69,484 square kilometers).

Lake Victoria contains numerous islands, the largest of which is Ukerewe. Numerous rivers enter the lake, the most significant of which is the Kagera River.

The lake’s sole outlet is the Victoria Nile, which serves as the Nile River’s headwaters.

Quick Navigation

Lake Victoria facts for kids

  • The first European to see the lake was John Hanning Speke in 1858
  • The lake was named after Queen Victoria of England.
  • It has 3,440 km of coastline and over 3,000 islands.
  • The biggest island is Ukerewe
  • It is the world’s second-largest freshwater lake
  • The Victoria Nile and the Katonga River flow out of the lake
  • The lake’s basin is 184,000 square kilometers
  • The Victoria Nile has two dams, Kiira and Nalubaale, and its water is used to generate hydroelectricity
  • 80% of the total water supply is from rain
  • The lake has 200 species of fish, making it one of the world’s largest freshwater fisheries.

What Animals Are Native to Lake Victoria?

The Lake Victoria Deepwater Catfish is thought to have been brought to near-extinction by the Nile Perch. Other native species include the clawless otter and sitatunga.

The deep-water catfish lives at the bottom of the lake, which is 82 meters at its deepest.

What Else Makes Lake Victoria Special? 

There are only two places in East Africa where you can watch the sunset over water without being on the coast, and one is Lake Victoria! 

It also has incredible wildlife. It offers the chance to see some of Africa’s most prized wildlife, as well as the diversity of local communities.

Lake Victoria’s Other Names

Lake Victoria has many names. Here are some of them in local languages.

  • Nam Lolwe (Dholuo)
  • ‘Nnalubaale (Luganda)
  • Nyanza (Kinyarwanda)
  • Ukerewe (undetermined)

What Countries Border Lake Victoria?

Tanzania, Kenya, and Uganda border Lake Victoria.