Mount Tate Facts

Tate Mountain is one of Japan’s three holy mountains, alongside Mount Fuji and Mount Haku. It is located in the northern Kita Alps of Toyama Prefecture. Toyama Prefecture is home to Mount O, Mount Onanji, and Mount Fujinooritate.

Public transportation will take hikers to the peak of the mountain from the Murodo Plateau Station at the height of 2,450 m (8,038 ft).

Quick Navigation

Mount Tate Facts for Kids

  • Granite and gneiss make up the majority of Mount Tate’s composition.
  • It ranks among Japan’s top 100 famous mountains.
  • During the Asuka period, Saeki no Ariyori became the first to climb Mount Tate.
  • Climbing this mountain is popular in Toyama as a day trip.
  • Tate-Yama volcano lies in the North Japan Alps.
  • Tate-Yama is a stratovolcano with a 4 km-wide caldera.
  • This volcano’s caldera was formed by erosion rather than explosion.
  • Lava and pyroclastic eruptions caused the Midagahara plateau to form.
  • The Hayatsuki River and the Tsurugisawa River, tributaries of the Kurobe River, originate from this mountain.


The mountain is composed primarily of granite and gneiss, with a smaller volcano located 2 km west of the summit.


The mountain is the source of the Hayatsuki River, Tsurugisawa, tributaries of the Kurobe River, each of which flows to the Sea of Japan.


Tateyama is located in the southeast of Toyama Prefecture. The town of Tateyama, located at the base of the mountain, is accessible by train from Toyama, the prefecture’s capital. 

Climbers and tourists are transported by public transportation up to Murodo Plateau Station at an elevation of 2,450 m (8,038 ft), from where they may hike to the summit.